You are here: Home » Education » Bangalore Engineering Colleges Review: BMS College of Engineering (Bmsce)

Bangalore Engineering Colleges Review: BMS College of Engineering (Bmsce)

BMSCE review, students’ opinion, placements, pay packages and more..

               BMS College of Engineering is one of the oldest and well-established engineering colleges in Bangalore. Centrally located on Bull Temple road, the institution was founded by Mr. B.M Sreenivasiah in 1960’s, with several educational institutions under the BMS umbrella. Since then, BMS students have performed consistently well in university exams, fests and other real world events. The college also has a sound entrepreneurial alumni base and hence has great placements because these entrepreneurs recruit from their college.

                BMSCE was granted autonomy by Visvesvaraya Technological University (VTU) two years ago. This means that while the college can set its own syllabus, question papers, evaluations, etc, the final degree is awarded by VTU. Please note that BMSCE is not to be confused with BMS Institute of Technology (BMSIT).  Although they are managed by the same board, BMSIT is an entirely different engineering college with a different campus in Yelahanka.

                The college is also part of Melton Foundation, an international union of five universities (BMS being the only one from India). Every year, five students are chosen into this foundation which is a life changing experience, with exchange trips abroad, personal development and making great use of your youth. Being a Meltonian adds a lot of weight to your resume as well.

Pros of BMSCE:

1.       BMS faculty is known to be really good with several well-experienced professors and industrialists among the teaching staff.

2.       Placements are very good, with nearly 98% of eligible students getting placed. Excellent pre-placement training is given from experts in the field.

3.       Pay packages offered are slightly higher than most other colleges, even for average IT jobs.

4.       Melton Foundation greatly helps students develop a broader prospect to life.

5.       Crowd is decently good.

6.       The inter-college fest ‘Utsav’ is one of the best in the state.

7.       Hostels are well managed. Location of the college is great and several food options available right outside the campus gate.

This is one half of the campus, the teaching campus:

The other half contains the indoor stadium, basketball court, auditoria, cafeteria, hostels, etc.

Cons of BMSCE:

1.    Girls and boys hostels are located in close proximity which may not be to the liking of most parents.  But both buildings have 24 hour security surveillance to offer some respite.

2.       No college bus access. And BMTC gets very crowded in the mornings. On most of the days, there is slow moving traffic which makes taking your own vehicle very tedious.

3.       Fluctuating time-table. Sometimes, classes start as early as 7:30 in the morning.

4.       Course work in the autonomous environment may be tedious to most students.

5.       Requires very good ranking in CET/COMED to get into. Management quota fee may be reasonable compared to other leading colleges but seats get books even before 12th grade exams!

        Overall, a pretty relaxed college without cut-throat strict rules. A great place to be if you are academic as well as extra-curricular oriented..there is a good balance of both here.

Other Colleges Reviewed:

RV College of Engineering

MS Ramiah Institute of Technology

BMS Institute of Technology

Please post any queries you have in the comments section below. Also, give a shout if you want a specific Bangalore Engg college to be reviewed.

26
Liked it
User Comments
  1. Ebbin Jose

    On June 10, 2011 at 12:27 pm


    Another nice review

  2. foxpete88

    On June 10, 2011 at 12:55 pm


    good review..thanks

  3. KittyK

    On June 10, 2011 at 11:53 pm


    I am very impressed with the job placement at 98%; that is excellent…

  4. isloooboy

    On June 11, 2011 at 2:21 am


    You are doing very good review I want to congratulate you and I like it very much nice work

  5. Heri Kiswanto

    On June 11, 2011 at 2:17 pm


  6. Heri Kiswanto

    On June 11, 2011 at 2:18 pm


    Nice your artikel,,,
    Please visit:
    http://notecook.com/main-course/vegetable-in-pot/

  7. sourav

    On July 23, 2011 at 6:59 am


    what i heard is taht bmsce is all masti and not much studies and rivelary between deparments??

    and is iem branch in the bmsce main campus which is in bull temple road beacause i have heard it is in its campus which is 25-30 km from city??please rely soon!!

  8. Pooja Says

    On July 23, 2011 at 7:05 am


    Not at all..BMSCE strikes a decent balance between masti and studies. Departmental rivalry exists in all colleges so nothing to worry.
    And IEM is very much present in BMSCE (bull temple road)..the other campus (BMSIT in yelahanka) does not have it.

  9. Piyush Bajaj

    On August 4, 2011 at 10:16 am


    hi , pooja
    i liked ur review n comments , so i just wanna little help 4 u ..
    i secured 2822 rank in comedk tis year , i selected CS in BIT in 1 round , i m waiting 4 second round , so whats ur view 4 better college that i can get in with good branch ?? and hw much variation is there between d 2 rounds rankwise ??
    i visited campus of BIT , and its a liitle bit of concern.. just 1 building !! so whats ur view abt its campus , facility , faculty , hostels and all..??
    and do u hav any placements record (package wise) of cs , ec of BIT ?

    eagerly waiting 4 ur reply………..

  10. Pooja Says

    On August 5, 2011 at 5:03 am


    Congratulations on your rank, Piyush.

    BIT is a decent enough college but for your rank, you can definitely get a better college in 2nd round of counseling. Funnily enough, only 60-70% of people turn up for second counseling which means your chances are high. Try your best to shift to BMSCE or MSRIT (CS-IS branch)..you might jusssst make the cut. Both these colleges have hostels, placements and academic records over BIT (autonomous).

    If you can’t change, then BIT is fairly good..better than 80% of Bangalore engg colleges. I don’t know about the hostels but the average package here for EC was 3.2 lpa in 2011. CS would be slightly higher..no major difference.

  11. Piyush Bajaj

    On August 5, 2011 at 7:42 am


    hi , pooja
    hws d TELECOMM branch in PESIT and BMS , as during d counsling , some 20 seats were vacant there.. so hw is d placements , scope , faculty and all 4 tis 2 branches of tis colleges.???.
    if get a seat in round in tis ,so wat r d chanches tat after 1 year , i can get a better seat than telecomm as sure on workin hard??
    should i go 4 tis 2. .or else as u mentioned above..?
    some guys told tat u may not get a seat in a campus hostel in al tis colleges as collegs wil start before d 2 round , so is there any hope tat hostel may remain vacant??

  12. Pooja Says

    On August 8, 2011 at 4:35 am


    COMED-K trend is very weird..in Karnataka CET, Telecom seats in BMS and PESIT would be filled before 800th rank!
    I suggest you go for TC in PESIT..it is relatively easier to change branch if you are among your class toppers. Avoid BMS for TC..placements are not as good as PESIT and change of branch is next to impossible. Hostel admissions have to be made at the time of your college admissions so I don’t think they’ll be full so early. Even otherwise, there are very good PGs within walkable distance from PESIT and BMSCE.

  13. Veena

    On August 11, 2011 at 4:43 am


    How much a college charges for change of branch in case of mutual change? Ex CMR-IT

  14. Pooja Says

    On August 11, 2011 at 5:53 am


    In most colleges, it is free. Four years ago, CMRIT used to be free too. Why don’t you call up the office and ask? When you do find out, please give an update here. Thanks. :)

  15. shruti

    On August 13, 2011 at 4:01 am


    i am from hyderabad and i wish to study in bms.but i have heard that it impossible to get a room in the hostel. plus im opting for architecture where i will be needing a lot of space to work. can you please give me the addresses of a few PG’s near bmsce?

  16. Pooja Says

    On August 14, 2011 at 5:19 am


    Not a problem..if the hostel is full, the college itself will arrange for PG accommodation nearby. They have tied up with a couple of PGs nearby..you and other hostelites will be housed in one of them.

  17. shruti

    On August 16, 2011 at 12:14 pm


    i missed bms by one seat.. i was alloted m s ramaiah will i get into bms in 2nd counselling? my rank is 213 in 1st counselling..

  18. Pooja Says

    On August 16, 2011 at 3:16 pm


    Depends on your branch but 90% chance is you’ll get BMS if you missed by less than 5 ranks ahead of you.

  19. shruti

    On August 17, 2011 at 1:09 am


    my branch is b.arch.. anyways 2nd counselling is on 19th of sept bt the college starts from 5th of september.. if i wait for the 2nd counselling i will b missing almost 3 weeks of college.. what should i do?

  20. Pooja Says

    On August 17, 2011 at 4:09 am


    Well its ok to miss the first three weeks if it gives you 4-5 better years right?
    Anyway, MSRIT is also equally good..so its your choice. :)

  21. shruti

    On August 17, 2011 at 4:46 am


    do i have to cancel my seat in MSRIT to participte in the 2nd counselling?

  22. Pooja Says

    On August 17, 2011 at 8:19 am


    You don’t have to. Go there with all your documents. If you want to change the seat, change it (no additional fee) else just leave the counter to retain your current seat.

  23. teja12341234

    On September 19, 2011 at 11:13 am


    hi puja.i want to know that will thr be placements in architecture

  24. Pooja Says

    On September 20, 2011 at 6:24 am


    Very few companies visit the campus for BArch placements..not only to BMSCE but all colleges. Job is not guaranteed.

  25. sai1111

    On September 20, 2011 at 9:06 am


    are laptops allowed in hostel rooms?

  26. Pooja Says

    On September 21, 2011 at 4:49 pm


    Laptops, tablets, cellphones, video games, electric kettle are allowed. Television, stove, heater are not allowed.

  27. TAPASWINI NAYAK

    On November 9, 2011 at 1:44 am


    i wud luv 2 join BMS aftr my +2 science…in compsc branch…wud u plz help me out regardng hw much rank 2 secure @ entranz? n hw much does it xpence 4 my total education in b.tech in BMS College?

  28. Pooja Says

    On November 13, 2011 at 8:26 am


    Are you from Karnataka? In that case, take up the CET for PCM subjects. A rank of 150-200 would get you into BMS comp science. The degree you get is B.E., not B.Tech. IT should cost you about 1 lakh for four years.

    If you are from out of Karnataka, get a rank of less than 1000 in COMED-K. Cost would be about 5 -6 lakh for four years. Even students from Karnataka can write COMED-K and get into this college.

  29. Sachin

    On December 10, 2011 at 11:44 pm


    BMSCE started in 1946, not 1960’s.

  30. rebello

    On January 27, 2012 at 1:42 pm


    How much is the Fees for admission for ****NRI*** to the mechanical engg. branch in bmsce? AND IS THE HOSTEL available single? hw much is the hostel fees for single and otherwise???? pls reply :)

  31. Pratik

    On May 14, 2012 at 7:32 am


    hello I am from Nepal
    how can i get admitted in BMS Engineering Collage for CSE
    for 2012-2013 academy

    thanks

  32. PSS

    On July 24, 2012 at 4:12 am


    Hi ,

    Urgent..

    I have to opt between IS at PESIT or IS at BMS ….the final destination being MS . Looking for good faculty, infrastructure and oppurtunities for Internship.

    With 1922 rank will i get CS at PESIT/BMS or IS in RVCE in 2nd round

    Please advice

  33. Pooja

    On July 26, 2012 at 4:31 am


    Pratik: Most certainly, under the foreign nationals quota.

    PSS: IS in PESIT is definitely better. Is your rank 1922 in Karnataka CET or COMED-K? If it\’s COMEDK, you\’ll probably bag PESIT IS or BMSCE CS. In that case, go for BMSCE CS..more brand value.

  34. Girish

    On September 15, 2012 at 1:13 pm


    Hi i am Girish studying in bmsce chemical branch. Is it possible to change my branch in 2nd year to any other courses.
    Pls Reply soon

  35. Abhishek

    On September 22, 2012 at 7:10 am


    Hi Pooja, I need some help regarding my Mtech in CSE.
    My PGCET CSE rank is 140, which colleges can I expect.
    Thank you

Post Comment
Powered by Powered by Triond
-->