You are here: Home » History » The Tudors – A DVD Review

The Tudors – A DVD Review

London, England. No other place on Earth holds such a special spot in my heart as does London, for a myriad of reasons, whether it be for the swinging social scene of the 1960’s, or from 1509’s accession to the throne of Henry VIII through his daughter Elizabeth I’s reign.

MCN: W6TYB-5NST7-4R1J3

Whether you loved him or hated him (and he was certainly deserving of both), no one can deny the major impact Henry VIII’s reign had on England, as well as being one of history’s most influential monarchs. From the very first episode of The Tudors, I was enthralled and totally committed to seeing every episode made in the 4-season series.

Jonathan Rhys Meyers stars as a young Henry VIII, an avid sportsman and all-around hedonist. Purists complain that the series falls short of being 100% historically accurate. Yes, that is a valid complaint if this were a history class instead of entertainment, and this most certainly is entertainment. The lion’s share of the series is, however, accurate insofar as history is concerned. I have always been interested in the Tudor reign of the British monarchy, and as such have read a great deal of the histories of both Henry VIII and his daughter Elizabeth I. Truth be told, some of the more interesting facts of this period were not included in the series – more on that later on.

The Tudor Family – Henry VII, Elizabeth of York, Henry VIII and Jayne Seymour

Henry VIII is most remembered for his having had 6 wives, and this common thread permeates the series 4 seasons. A young Henry is first introduced in season 1 as a lusty and hot-tempered monarch, immersed in such a passionate existence that many of his would-be kingly duties are performed by Cardinal Wolsey, played by Sam Neill. Sam is wonderful in this role, as his machinations of the kingdom’s direction leaves Henry free to indulge in his limitless hedonism. Question: What is the difference between rape and seduction? Answer: Patience, and patience is an element foreign to Henry’s behavioral repertoire, whose every whim was quickly catered to. As Henry’s life as king unfolds, the viewer is introduced to the personal agendas of many of the changing cast of this period of time. One thing the viewer is constantly reminded of is that Henry’s agenda is paramount, and if someone else’s agenda is at odds against Henry’s, the king’s agenda will prevail.

British coin minted in 2009.

(Photo courtesy of Philbert Desanex).

Agendas. Everybody has them – many are hidden. Some are overt, and if yours can be smoothly melded with the agendas of those in power, so much the better for you. It’s like that now, and that has always been the case, especially in 1509 with Henry VIII’s accession to the throne of England.

By virtue of the time element involved since Henry VIII’s reign (we are talking half a millennium here), his era has been elevated into almost a pseudo-mythology, somewhat romanticized while still retaining the gritty reality of hardships endured, especially that of the axe falling down upon so many necks of that period.

Using the poetic imagery of history, exhaustive research, insight, and an ingenious plot interweaving fiction with the dramatic and historical events of the era, here has been produced an authoritative account of the reign of Henry Tudor. It is no exaggeration to say that the viewing of this brilliantly imaginative series is an experience that no viewer will ever forget. It is a most powerful and serious work.

On a final note, it is rumoured that Henry’s embalmed corpse was, at his daughter Mary’s command, removed from his tomb and burned as a heretic!

————

Rhodora Bande also writes at Online Writing Ideas

————

26
Liked it
User Comments
  1. Brewed Coffee

    On March 12, 2011 at 12:47 am


    Whoa! This is definitely announcing your great comeback sis! A great review, great re-telling of the story…I was so enthralled! You have presented this in a very interesting way. :-)

  2. CHIPMUNK

    On March 12, 2011 at 1:27 am


    Great work well presented

  3. lapasan

    On March 12, 2011 at 1:43 am


    Nice review of a DVD movie.

  4. webseowriters

    On March 12, 2011 at 2:01 am


    A nice entry

  5. Ima Vee

    On March 12, 2011 at 2:12 am


    napaka-interesting naman nito RB…
    good job.. :-]

  6. mtrguanlao

    On March 12, 2011 at 2:17 am


    This is very informative sis as I do not know much about Henry. Great review!

  7. Christine Ramsay

    On March 12, 2011 at 4:21 am


    You have made me wish I had watched this series of programmes. I know my son enjoyed them.

  8. bolive

    On March 12, 2011 at 4:44 am


    Nice review. Thumbs up! :D

  9. sunsetsunrise

    On March 12, 2011 at 5:42 am


    I totally agree with the review….i love Tudors!

  10. nz2rdfox

    On March 12, 2011 at 6:43 am


    I have to find the site that has the series…thanks for sharing it with us :)

  11. gvgatchalian

    On March 12, 2011 at 8:58 am


    Oh, I love the review, makes me want to grab a DVD copy and watch it. I’ve always been a great follower of England’s monarchy too. A wonderful read, RB.

  12. LCM Linda

    On March 12, 2011 at 11:05 am


    Sounds interesting. I will check and see if I can get a copy to watch it. Thanks for sharing.

  13. papaleng

    On March 12, 2011 at 11:15 am


    good review and seems a good series to watch. Nice one RB.

  14. priam gabriel

    On March 13, 2011 at 10:43 pm


    Just for info:

    Distinctions between rape and qualified seduction under the law:

    Rape is Committed -

    1. By a man who shall have carnal knowledge of a woman under any of the following:

    Through force, threat, or intimidation;

    When the offended party is deprived of reason or otherwise unconscious;

    By means of fraudulent machination or grave abuse of authority; and

    When the offended party is under twelve (12) years of age or is demented, even though none of the circumstances mentioned above be present.

    2. By any person who, under any of the circumstances mentioned in paragraph 1 hereof, shall commit an act of sexual assault by inserting his penis into another person’s mouth or anal orifice, or any instrument or object, into the genital or anal orifice of another person.

    Qualified seduction on the other hand is committed by-

    A person in public authority, priest, house servant, domestic, guardian, teacher, one entrusted with the education or custody of the offended party, or a brother or ascendant of the victim. The victim is a virgin; must be over 12 and under 18 years of age; and has sexual intercourse with the offender. In qualified seduction, there is consent on the part of the victim.

  15. galore

    On March 14, 2011 at 9:56 pm


    great review, thanks for sharing

  16. Dee Gold

    On March 15, 2011 at 9:56 am


    great job,sis

  17. Sharif Ishnin

    On March 15, 2011 at 10:56 am


    Great review RB. I do enjoy period shows with the entertainment value added. The only problem is that there are people who really believe entertainment as historical fact and they stand by it. It just troubles me when I meet them.lol.

  18. Likha

    On March 16, 2011 at 4:13 am


    I missed your writes RB and I’m glad I am reading them again. This aroused my interest to grab a copy. I trust your review.

  19. Likha

    On March 16, 2011 at 4:13 am


    I missed your writes RB and I\’m glad I am reading them again. This aroused my interest to grab a copy. I know I can rely on your review.

  20. Absinthe

    On March 19, 2011 at 1:17 pm


    Priam Gabriel: Congratulations on your recent purchase of a law dictionary. First came the purists complaining of historical inaccuracies in The Tudors. The Tudors isn’t a history class. Now you splitting hairs over legal definitions of words in your own pathetic attempt for recognition. This is a DVD review, not a class in a school of law. Perhaps you should take your own advice and learn to differentiate between the two!

  21. serenitybubble

    On March 20, 2011 at 1:06 am


    I’ve never watched the Tudors. Anyway, great review.

  22. AJ Garcia

    On March 22, 2011 at 9:08 pm


    Wow. A comprehensive review on the Tudors. I am also fascinated with UK. its castles, the monarchy, the various titles they have, their british accent, and many more. Thanks for this share. I love it!

  23. panjettan5

    On March 26, 2011 at 2:52 pm


    nice post…

Post Comment
Powered by Powered by Triond
-->