You are here: Home » Philosophy » The Nine Sense Holes of Our Body

The Nine Sense Holes of Our Body

Sages of India have described our body as an object of illusions. The nine holes in our body play a vital part in the human life. They are responsible for the rise and fall of every human being.

The Indian sages who got disgusted in the unsatisfactory pleasures of the world and flesh left out everything and went in search of true happiness. Carnal pleasures haunted and hunted them depriving their peace of mind. 

Our Body: An Air Bag of Nine Holes

Sags of South India, like Arunagirinathar, described that human body is nothing but an illusory air bag with nine holes. Another sage described the material human body is inert in itself. For him the body is just a bag of flesh with nine outlets or inlets and he asserts that only after being enlivened by the Spirit of Soul that the mere flesh and bone get real life. Otherwise it is just an illusion. 

The Nine Sense Holes

Every human being has nine holes in their bodies which enable their senses. We have nine holes in our body: two eyes, two ears, two nostrils and a mouth make seven holes in the head and anus and  sex organ holes in the middle of our body. Only the sex organs have variation for their complementary purpose. They are the sense organs through which we develop our sensations. It is through these holes that we acquire knowledge. We learn through seeing through the holes of our eyes, hearing through the holes of the ears and acting through the hole in the mouth. What we speak is influenced by what goes into the holes in our head. 

Body of Holes in Religion

The Hindu Vedas, especially the Atharva Veda, state about the  illusory nature of these senses. Vedas stress that the material body can come alive only after enlivened by the Spirit Soul. 

The Sikh Gurbani calls these holes gates of knowledge. What you speak is influenced by what goes into the holes in your head. It says that eyes, ears, nose, and tongue (mouth) combined with skin make five senses of acquiring knowledge. That is why they are called Gyaan Indriyas or senses of knowledge and  similarly, the genital, anus, and voice (mouth) combined with hands and legs make Karma Indriyas or five senses of action or work. 

Buddhism and Jainism speak much about the illusory nature of our body though these sense organs. They advise the individual to adhere to righteousness and not to succumb to the senses that pull him to lower levels. 

Christianity hails the body the temple of God and it should be honored with righteous use and to be handled as an instrument to glorify God. 

Jesus Mentions These Holes

The nine holes in our body act as gates to let in and let out. Eyes and ears let in sensations. Jesus  clearly mentions about  what is to let in and let out. “ Nothing that enters one from outside can make that person unclean. It s what comes out from within that makes unclean…What comes out of a person is what defiles, for evil designs come out of the heart; theft, murder, adultery, jealousy, greed, maliciousness, deceit, indecency, slander, pride and folly. All these evil things come from within can make a person unclean”. (Mark 7: 15, 20-23)

Liked it
Powered by Powered by Triond